Reflecting on “Another day, another experience” by C. Max Glazowski

Public Speaking
Importance of Public Speaking
2 min readMar 3, 2018

In his post, Mr. Glazowski, a student at the University at Buffalo, focuses on the skill of negotiation and how he utilized it when trying to get all his friends to go to the showing of a movie together. He begins by focusing on deciding on a specific movie, then explains how they had to decide on who would drive. However, a problem arose when people could not agree on the time. Several wanted to go out Friday night, and some wanted to go out Saturday night. Indeed, this was a massive dilemma, and it could have derailed the entire operation.

Thankfully, Mr. Glazowski was able to put his newly practiced skill of negotiation to the test. After taking both perspectives into account, he decided to compromise. Therefore, they all went to the movies on Friday but earlier in the day so people wouldn’t be too tired to study on Saturday. Crucial to his success was compromise. As he states in his post, “Any practice with compromise is good practice.” In other words, Mr. Glazowski believes that regardless of the situation, as long as he is able to practice compromising and negotiating his skill will improve and he will be a more effective businessman. I believe that this is a profoundly important realization. Once you realize that any situation can be used to practice your skill, a huge world of opportunity opens up before your eyes, and before you know it, every situation is a exercise in compromise and negotiation.

I believe I can apply this thinking to my own desire to increase my public speaking skills. Instead of running away when opportunities to speak publicly present themselves, I should see the situation as a challenge to see what I have learned and how my skills have progressed. Afterwords, I can review my performance and identify things I need to improve on further. Therefore, just as Mr. Glazowski believes in practicing his skill regardless of the situation, I should likewise look forward to practicing my skill and specifically looking at situations in ways that allow me to practice it further.

--

--