Procrastination

Summer Yu
Managing your time effectively
2 min readMar 3, 2018

Throughout much of my life if I was ever asked a question in regards to my work ethic I would describe myself to be someone who will complete every task given to me but, not without procrastinating. Procrastination has always been a huge weakness of mine that I’ve always wanted to eliminate but never felt motivated enough to do so. After so many years of not managing my time well and procrastinating, I accepted it as part of my identity.

However, after researching the importance of time management, I quickly realized I needed to terminate this bad habit of mine or else I would not obtain the grades I would like to receive. In order to start getting into a routine of encouraging good study habits, I started to go to the library more often. Although I went to Capen library frequently throughout the week, I realized the background chattering got to be quite loud at some points and I was unable to focus on my work. I decided that the most suitable space I could study in was an empty classroom. At least 3 days out of the week I would go to Bell , Fronczak, Cooke, or Nsc to find empty classrooms to study in. Being in a classroom setting really helped me focus on my work and not leave every assignment till the day before the due date.

I would say this small change in my work ethic and study habits helped improve my time management tremendously. I know because I didn’t have as much or if any assignments left to complete the day before its due. Moreover, I believe I produced better grades because I had an adequate amount of time to study the material that is being tested. In order to continue practicing this skill I’m going to continue finding quiet places to study to see if my study habits improve.

--

--