Biking in Des Moines

One of the many creative bike racks in Des Moines, Iowa.

Des Moines is a great place to live and bike. My work, recreation opportunities, and entertainment are all a short ride from my apartment.

Des Moines has a growing number of connected trails and I can find very affordable housing within a short distance from where I work and play. The connected trails make it possible to travel between neighborhoods and cities without crossing busy streets. With continuing efforts to connect trails, central Iowa now has over 600 miles of bike paths. It is fun and easy to visit neighboring communities outside of the city as well.

Even people who live in the suburbs are well connected to the rest of Metro. I have been very pleasantly surprised to find that I can reach friends in the suburbs without biking through traffic. Shaded bike paths along steams, parks, and reclaimed prairie take me there.

My workhorse resting safely in its designated spot.

My two-mile ride to work is relaxing and has on-street bike lanes most of the way. Even though my ride goes through the heart of downtown, the synced stoplights on Grand Ave. and Locust Ave. allow me bike efficiently, at the speed of traffic, and with very little stopping. When parking is taken into consideration, it is almost always faster to take two wheels instead of four.

My employer, LS2group, has been very accommodating to my cycling habit. They are part of a growing number of employers that provide secured, indoor bicycle storage. I do not have to worry about my bike being exposed to the elements while I am at the office. Getting the best parking spot every morning puts me in a good mood!

The VIP treatment is not limited to the workweek. The Des Moines Bicycle Collective — which promotes cycling as a means of transportation, wellness, and recreation — provides free bike valet services at all of Des Moines’ coolest events. Whether I’m buying local produce at the Downtown Farmers’ Market, or seeing my favorite bands play at the 80/35 Music Festival, the volunteer valets take good care of my ride.

At the state level, the Iowa Bicycle Coalition does great work with bicycle advocacy and education. Their information about trails, events, rentals, and bicycle related businesses removes the barriers between Iowans and having fun on two wheels.

The city of Des Moines has made many improvements to make the city more livable. I intend to work with the city, the community, and people who care to continue building upon their progress.

--

--