How I deal with stress

By: Sarah Lukan

Stress: a state of mental or emotional strain or tension resulting from adverse or very demanding circumstances.

Everyone has it. Nearly every day I see a headline or hear a story on the Today Show about how Americans are more stressed than ever — the classic dilemma of so much to do, so little time. Everyone’s stressors are different as are everyone’s methods for dealing with stress. After years of trying (and failing) at many of the recommended methods, I have determined the best way I can deal with stress is a combination of multiple things. Reducing stress is a challenge with a busy schedule; constant dings from my phone and a toddler to chase around. But in the long run making the effort to reduce stress makes me a happier and more productive person!

My recipe for sanity:

  1. Working out. Making time to work out is a daily struggle. I live by the motto “every day is a new day.” If I don’t work out one day, it doesn’t mean I can’t tomorrow. I have found that getting some form of exercise; even just a long walk around our neighborhood makes a world of difference.
  2. Prioritize. Learning that not everything thrown at me is at the same priority level was a challenge. But it has preserved at least some of my sanity. Being able to think through things quickly and determine if it demands that I stop what I am doing and attend to it is crucial. If I can schedule a time to deal with it later or if I can write it down on my to do list and assign a deadline, I will do so.
  3. Organization. Although I don’t appear to be the most organized person (especially next to some of the color coding superheroes at LS2group), I would not survive without my own method to my madness. Technology is fantastic and I fully utilize my calendar, email folders, and notes for my personal and professional to do lists. I also have a method for keeping my priorities in front of me and tracking various projects. Using my system gives me comfort that things will get accomplished and keeps me from worrying that I will forget something.
  4. Understanding the margins. Like many other Type A’s, I like to control things, have plans, have back up plans, and generally prefer to do things myself. My mom likes to remind me that I would often say “Sarah do or no do” when I was little. Both professionally and personally I have been challenged to delegate, trust, and let go of the little things. This is a constant battle. Knowing that things won’t be done exactly the way I would do them and accepting that there is more than one way to do things was life changing for me.
  5. Make time to have fun. This is probably the hardest of all. It’s so easy to get sucked into the to-do list, plan making, and never-ending pile of laundry and emails. It also can take effort and planning to go out to dinner, go on a trip, or have a BBQ, but I am never so relaxed as when I get home after spending an evening with friends and family.

I don’t win the battle every day — but having a game plan to deal with stress certainly helps to win the war!

Previous post
What’s in a brand? What you need to know.

Originally published at ls2group.com on August 3, 2015.

--

--

Sarah Lukan
LS2group. Impossible isn’t in our vocabulary.

Type A learning to live in a chaotic world. Mom. Wife. Hawkeye. @LS2group