Routine Re-Defined

--

There is often this idea that in the transition from college to the workforce all of one’s time and attention must become focused upon their work. College is the time to explore and find yourself, whereas the workforce is where you have chosen your path and now must focus all your energy on it. Many get lost in the hustle of working 9 to 5 and the daily drudge of routine life. However, in my short four months in the real world, I have come to understand that the workforce can make for a more healthy and well-rounded person than college ever could.

Although many often desire to resist this transition — wishing instead to hang on to the old days of late night pizza and Netflix all day — obtaining a job and all the responsibilities that come with it can and often is better for the individual. At least that is what I have come to find.

One of the first and most important areas of improvement from my transition came from where I get my news in the morning. Instead of scrolling through my Facebook feed before class to find who was celebrating a birthday, I am proud to state that my homepage is CNN. Staying up to date on the news makes for a more well-informed and amiable person. By devoting the first ten minutes of my workday to reading through the Daily Skimm, Politico, and CNNheadlines, I’m prepared and ready for the day.

Although routine often gets a bad reputation, it isn’t always a negative. Yes, routine rush hour traffic is no fun and neither are lines at the grocery store, but routine can allow one to reach their goals. Throughout college, my dad continually harped on the importance of sleep to a healthy body, and while a few months ago I would roll my eyes at him, I now understand that going to bed around the same time each night is glorious. Setting a goal to be in bed at a decent time will make for a more rested and sharp individual come morning. Coffee is not included in this formula, but always a good idea.

Along with sleep comes a workout routine. As most offices along with LS2group keep regular working hours, it makes it simple for employees to schedule daily exercise after a long day at the desk. Setting aside thirty minutes or an hour in college was difficult as each day brought a different schedule, however with work, one can plan ahead and be sure to follow through. There is enough time in the day to accomplish all your goals if you plan.

With the transition from college to adulthood comes responsibility. Responsibility to your work by devoting time and attention to your tasks each day, but also responsibility to yourself. After reading this short post, ask yourself, “Am I devoting enough time to my mental and physical well-being outside of work?” The good news is, it’s never too late to start!

What are some of your tips and tricks in your routine that keep you motivated? Comment below, I would love to know!

--

--

Caroline Rainey
LS2group. Impossible isn’t in our vocabulary.

coffee aficionado, outdoor enthusiast, admirer of quality literature & politics. Currently @LS2group