Impossible Minds: Rita Reis

Impossible
4 min readAug 5, 2020

Our Impossible Minds series profiles the individuals who are building new possibilities for the future across technology, design and culture. This time we talked with Rita Reis, Senior Product Designer, who is obsessed with design systems, keeping things simple, and wants a future with people who are focused on solving problems.

What do you enjoy about your role at Impossible?

I would say the most fascinating thing about my role is the amount of growth involved in it, along with all the experiences you get on the way, mostly due to being so passionate about my work.

We are constantly challenged and sometimes improvising gets you a long way. The kind of experience you get from living the project and all that it entails, from going for user research, to end product, to all the relationships you build, the experience, and overcoming challenges that aren’t always planned is very rewarding.

Besides that, I get to do it with an amazing group of creative people. I have the pleasure to work with people from whom I learn so much every single day.

What problem are you solving now?

The main problem I’ve been solving since I can remember and for which I am already known for at impossible, is consistency. I am that one-pixel freak designer, but I also zoom back to make sure the bigger picture fits into what we aim to achieve.

Currently, I’m working on the eternal problem of communication, spreading the message that we are responsible for creating a better future, and how we can help our clients achieve it.

What are you currently obsessed with and why?

Design systems and keeping things simple.

As a consistency freak, analysing and studying something like Material Design is a thrill. Understanding how to build the perfect system while preparing your canvas for the real world, that is not only in constant change but also needs to be prepared to serve a variety of different products with a multitude of requirements.

By the way… did I also mention TikTok?

What do you want to create next?

I don’t know exactly what, but I’ve been wanting to work around the topic of human behaviour and mental health in particular. Maybe because it is not that consistent, as I am, and I love a challenge!

I believe the digital world has a lot to offer in preventing many of these conditions such as depression and anxiety, which untreated can be a road to addiction and ultimately death. But prevention and treatment can help us better know ourselves, our essence and get in touch with our feelings, building a better self and better relationships, again, better humans. In sum, working on something that takes you to the core of who we are individually so we are best prepared for others.

What kind of future do you want?

A future with people who are more focused on solving problems together than delivering on time. People that care about others and respect the world we live in. Mostly a future with good people.

I’d say a future with more impossible people.

What would you say are the biggest challenges to achieving that future?

Egos.

What’s your favourite thing about working at Impossible?

People and Freedom.

The fact that I don’t need to be locked down in an office from 9 to 5 and can work in a scenario of my choice according to the project is something I value every day. This allows me to be better at my job for impossible but most importantly provides me balance for everything else that goes on in my personal life.

--

--

Impossible

We are a team of designers, engineers, consultants and communicators who have a passion for preserving our world. www.labs.impossible.com