Obligatory Black History Month Blog

By Tatiana Godfrey, a Black

Impro Theatre
Impro Theatre Musings
4 min readFeb 24, 2022

--

Structure inspired by Jasmine Lee-Jones’ Seven Methods of Killing Kylie Jenner

Sometimes talking about race to wyte pipo be like

So I was a little nervous when I volunteered to write this Black History Month Blog. There are so many things I want to write about and that I think should be addressed: the historical and ongoing erasure of Black people and specifically Black women from American histories, the concept of double consciousness as theorized by W.E.B. DuBois, what is the Black American experience?, Black Joy! and why it’s necessary, how the structures of slavery and white supremacy still affect Black people today, Black stereotypes: how we uphold them and how we break them, the intersections of Blackness and other historically excluded populations (I’m also Puerto Rican), Black Improvisors and where to find them, me and my Blackness/Blackosity/Blackitude. Really, the possibilities were endless.

Even though I know a blog won’t solve racism, I definitely felt the pressure to write something that’ll make wyte pipo be like

and then they realize they wuz racist the whole time.

Cuz if you’re wyte and you’re reading this (and even if you’re not reading this), you have actively upheld and benefitted from white supremacy your entire life.

It’s okay. You’re not alone. I’ve upheld white supremacy, too. When it’s the only thing you know, you want to keep it as a safety blanket. It was definitely easier for me when I was cast as Gary Coleman in Avenue Q not to say anything when a wyte person was cast as the Japanese character. But guess what?! That was me upholding white supremacy.

When I make excuses for the racist behavior I see from someone who should know better? That’s me upholding white supremacy.

When Impro continues to produce and teach canons that are only inspired by white playwrights or genres in which the historically excluded continue to be excluded? That’s us upholding white supremacy. Don’t worry, you should still attend our upcoming performance of Jane Austen Unscripted at the Garry Marshall Theatre, and can do so joyously. We’re also making sure we’re simultaneously developing work inspired by Black folks, too. And Chicana folks. And East Asian folks. And South Asian folks. And the LGBTQIA+ community. And the disabled community. And even more female voices!

Honestly, the fact that we actively live on lands that belong to other people–like Indigenous folks have lived here for over ten thousand years and now we live here–is us upholding white supremacy. For real, I’m pretty sure they want their land back.

This is usually the point in a race-relations convo that wyte pipo be like

and then I’m like

because fearing violence from wyte pipo is not an uncommon occurrence in my life, and I don’t want wyte pipo to shoot me.

Yet another reason why it’s so difficult to determine what this blog should be about.

In deciding to write this Black History Month blog, I knowingly undertook the task of describing elements of the Black experience to what will assuredly be a mostly white audience. (Just a reminder that it’s not Black people’s job to explain racism to white folks. I’m choosing to engage here!) In making this decision, I find myself in a position that is not uncommon within the Black experience: Speak truth to institution, but don’t anger them, cuz then they be like

It’s a delicate balance.

Given this context of what it’s like writing this piece, I’ll offer some observations and thoughts around Black History Month.

  • Every month is Black History month.*
  • Every time you see a Black person, give them a dollar.
  • When Black people get to create together, wyte pipo are not always the intended audience, but it’s cool if wyte pipo like it, too.
  • We’re not monolithic; the Black American experience is vast and expansive.
  • Because of the previous point, supporting Black people means also centering and uplifting the experiences of the queer community, the disabled community, women, the South and East Asian Communities, the Chicana and Latinx communities, our immigrant population, and all other historically excluded communities.

I know. It’s difficult to write about.

*Inspired by Suzan-Lori Parks

Meme Bibliography

  • Black woman sliding off sofa, GIF, Tiffany Pollard, source unknown
  • Math Lady / Confused Lady- Brazilian actress Renata Sorrah playing Nazaré Tedesco in a scene from the telenovela, Senhora do Destino.
  • Kevin Hart, “Grandpa Staring.”
  • Mark and Patricia McCloskey, St. Louis.
  • Samuel L. Jackson, Django Unchained
  • Gene Wilder and Cleavon Little, Blazing Saddles
  • “Blinking White Guy,” Drew Scanlon

--

--

Impro Theatre
Impro Theatre Musings

Impro Theatre exists to change the world through joyful artistic engagement by performing, teaching, and expanding storytelling through unscripted theatre.