My Very Unique 10-Year Plan

Azren the Language Nerd
Improve your life
Published in
2 min readJan 29, 2015

--

My 10-year plan is very different than the majority of students in their 20s. Most students in their 20s are usually working towards a certain professional goal. For example, some people decide to study engineering with the goal of building a career as an engineer. Other people study education with the goal of becoming a teacher. That being said, no matter what you’re studying, the fact of the matter is that most students in their 20s are often focusing a large percentage of their time on getting experience in one single field of study so that they can find a meaningful job in that field.

I’m doing something COMPLETELY different.

I’ve decided to spend my 20s getting experience in as many different fields as possible. For example, I’m learning about video production & video editing by creating videos on my YouTube channel. I’m also developing my marketing, management, recruiting, leadership, and other core business skills through my job with College Pro. Through my studies at university, I’ve learned to speak Spanish & French fluently, and I am currently learning Mandarin. I also consider myself to be a world traveller, because I travel to a new country every year so that I can broaden my understanding of different cultures.

In other words, I have chosen to spend my 20s investing in my own development by getting experience in as many different things as possible. That way, once I am in my 30s I will have a wide variety of career opportunities available to me. If I were to be spending my 20s learning about only ONE field of study, I would have a much more limited number of career paths to choose from.

And in all honesty, that would scare the heck out of me. I would start asking myself things like: What if I invest all of this time and money on one single area of study, and it turns out that I don’t enjoy it? Or what if after I graduate, there are no jobs in that field? What would I do then? Would I have the skills to switch career paths? Would I even know what other options are available? Would I have to spend even more time & money on additional schooling for a field that I might not like all over again?

This is why I’ve chosen to spend my the next 8–12 years of my life on broadening my horizons and developing as many different skills as possible. I feel like it’s the best thing that I could be doing right now to set myself up for a happy, bright, and prosperous future.

Thanks for reading this post! To see some of my other work, check out my YouTube channel at http://YouTube.com/user/AzrenR

--

--

Azren the Language Nerd
Improve your life

I make videos & write blog posts about language learning. PolyglotAzren on SC, FB, IG, Tumblr, and YouTube. Podcast is called “The Language Learning Show”