That’s a Wrap!

Throughout my posts on this blog, I have researched and reflected on the art of public speaking. Now, in this blog post, I will create a plan of what steps I will take to perform successful presentations in the classroom and the workplace.

First, I will work on improving my physical appearance while presenting. One issue that I have while presenting is that I will shift the weight of my body from one side to another. As I stated in my second blog post about appearances, the best type of stance to have is one where your weight is evenly distributed. Fixing an issue like this will not be easy, but I am determined to work on it!

Next, I will be sure to give myself an ample amount of time to rehearse and practice my presentation beforehand. As I learned throughout my experience, I perform presentations much better when I practice. The PricewaterhouseCoopers Case Competition showcases exemplifies this idea. Also, I want to make sure that I will be able to present to my managers and supervisors to the best of my ability. Practicing will ensure this!

Lastly, I want to work on my confidence. As a music performer, you must love the stage in order to perform well. Since I am confident on the stage as a musician, I must translate this into confidence while speaking publically. One way that I am planning on doing this is to pretend that the presentation is a concert or recital and the words that I am speaking is the music I am creating. If I can keep this mindset throughout my presentations, I will become more confident while presenting!

Although this is my last blog post for this project, I will keep these ideas in mind while preparing to present and while I am presenting. I will constantly look back on the progress I have made and look for ways to improve.

I would like to thank you for reading my blog and I hope my blog has helped you in your journey for improving your public speaking skills!

--

--