Have the Right Mindset During Your Post-Corporate Transition

--

Letting go of a corporate job that provides a steady and reliable income is no easy task. Give yourself a pat on the back for making that bold move. Not everyone has the guts to do that, you know, so you should feel really proud of yourself. Top marks for you!

But then comes the next part. It all becomes a mindset and strategy game now. If you enter this new world without the right mindset, navigating it will become doubly hard for you. That is actually how my experience went down. I didn’t know what to expect, to be honest. I mean I knew there will be a lot of changes moving forward, but I had no clue how drastic some of them will be!

To make it a bit easier for you to transition from a corporate employee to a freelancer or business owner, condition your mind and take note of these important things.

Things won’t be how they used to

This is an obvious fact, and I’m sure you are well aware of this. However, when the reality is already in front of you, it becomes much harder to accept. It took me a good two years or so to understand and embrace this. I still get a bit emotional thinking about it, but at least I have already moved on.

I loved my career so much that it was almost too painful for me to let go of my fancy title, the money and other perks I enjoyed, the many business trips I went on to, and the fulfillment from the fact that I was being paid to do something I was truly passionate about.

I vividly remember my husband’s answer the first time I asked him if I can already retire from corporate. He said: Of course, just as long as you’d be willing to change your lifestyle. Emphasis on YOUR! It was funny but true! And it became even truer as days passed by. I had to make some adjustments in the first few months and remind myself that I was no longer Carla from corporate.

The sooner you accept that things won’t be how they used to, the easier it will be for you to take the next steps in your journey. You have to FULLY let go and charge ahead. Besides, who said that things won’t change for the better, right?

There will be a lot of sad and confusing days

In my previous post, I mentioned that it is important for you to prepare yourself mentally and emotionally as you leave your corporate life behind. Why? So you can survive the days when you will feel dejected as you miss your old life, especially when work-related pictures pop up in your Facebook memories! Seriously, though, you can’t help but reminisce, right? And it is in these moments that you might doubt yourself or question the sanity of your decision.

It’s also difficult to witness how your previous company and colleagues seem to have quickly moved on without you, or to see that your peers have taken on more senior roles now. At times, you can’t help but wonder where you’d be in the career ladder had you not left the corporate world.

It’s normal to feel that way, so don’t think that you’re the only one going through this phase. Allow yourself to immerse in your emotions for some time, temporarily disconnect if you have to, then come out of it stronger, wiser, and ready to face your exciting new venture.

It will be a fun learning journey ahead

Chin up, you guys! It’s not all bad! Yes, there will be days when you feel like giving up, but I promise you it will be better soon enough. One of the best things that will come out from this new chapter in your life is that you will be able to reinvent yourself. Imagine being able to transform into something (or someone) you never thought was possible! In my case, this was the time when I unknowingly created my post-corporate ‘multiverse’.

I’ve always seen myself as a wife and mom, as well as a corporate career woman, but when I gave up my job, I morphed into several other versions of myself: a freelance writer and business consultant for international clients, a business owner — both traditional (with a physical food store in one of the largest and busiest malls in the country) as well as online (and in the process became an accidental network marketer), and an investor and advocate of having multiple income streams. And all these were made possible because of the learning journey I embarked on after my corporate stint. I wouldn’t have had the time to take online masterclasses and do a lot of research and reading if I still had my day job, for sure. So yes, I’m thankful that I made the decision to leave the corporate world a few years ago.

That’s why instead of moping around, you should take advantage of your newfound freedom from the daily corporate grind — the targets, the deadlines, the countless meetings, and everything else! — and start your own learning journey. Learn a new skill, build a small business, or create your own company. Go beyond your comfort zone and make it an enjoyable and fulfilling experience for you. Remember, it’s never too late to reinvent yourself!

You will need all the support you can get

With the rollercoaster of emotions that you’ll go through during your post-corporate transition, you will need all the support you can get from your family and friends. Do not attempt to tread this path on your own, regardless of how strong or stable you think you are. Open up to someone you completely trust and who will understand your thoughts and feelings. Surround yourself with people who exude positivity and push you to keep going. Take comfort from family and friends who have full confidence in who you are and what you’re capable of. Get inspiration from those you look up to and learn from individuals who have gone through a similar experience.

As I was nearing the end of my corporate life, I told my husband that I only have one request — that is for him to be patient with me as I figure things out for myself. You see, this is unchartered territory for me. I have been an employee since even before I formally finished college, and being out of the corporate world all of a sudden was unsettling and disorienting! He assured me then that he will never pressure me, and he has kept his word to this day. I will be forever grateful to him for that! He was and still is all the support that I needed.

The ultimate goal is to make your post-corporate life a net positive experience for you. And you don’t have to do this alone.

Enjoyed what you just read? Follow me and watch out for new articles like this and more each week. Don’t forget to hit like and leave a comment below to keep the conversation going.

For inquiries, please message me at writercmbk@gmail.com.

To find out more about me, do check out my LinkedIn account.

--

--

Carla May Beriña-Kim
In and Beyond the Corporate World

Freelance Writer and Editor | Consultant | Speaker and Resource Person | Former Corporate and NGO Executive | Mom | Wife