cheryl wu
{IN CONTEXT}
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2015

--

dit le renard / said the fox / hú li shuō / 狐狸說 / 🐺💬

Antoine Saint-Exupéry’s Le Petit Prince / The Little Prince / Xiǎo Wáng Zǐ / 小王子 / 🙇👑

le prince et le renard

My mom left me three copies of Saint-Exupéry’s work, in three languages and four versions. I think she thought it would guide my brother and I as we grew up.

Here are multiple versions of the same passage from the fox.

«Mais, si tu m’apprivoises, ma vie sera comme ensoleilée.»

French original (Harvest Harcourt, 2001)

“But, if you tame me, my life will be filled with sunshine.”

English translation (Richard Howard, Harvest Harcourt, 2000)

“But, if you tame me, it will be as if the sun came to shine on my life.”

English translation (older translation, book4u.com.tw)

「不過,如果你馴服我的話,我的生活一定會改變的,説不定我會變得很快樂!你知道嗎?」

Chinese translation (book4u.com.tw)

“But, if you tame me, my life will absolutely change, perhaps I will be very happy! You know?”

English translation of the Chinese translation (Cheryl Wu)

«Mais, si tu m’apprivoises, ma vie va absolument changer, c’est possible que je serais très content! Sais-tu que?»

French translation of the Chinese translation (Cheryl Wu)

“❓🙇👑🐺👌🏡🔜🌞”

📖🇫🇷🌐💁🏻 (🚫️🆎🐇)

the author at home

If you enjoyed this, please read the original these grey days! Let me know how it goes. I’d appreciate recommending and sharing if you liked it.

  1. Please consider donating to my American Foundation for Suicide Prevention fundraising page. We have raised $550 so far! Donations are accepted until the end of 2015 and are fully tax-deductible.
  2. If you are looking for suicide (survivor) support, The Samaritans (in NYC, but around the world) are literal lifesavers.
  3. If you are looking for social support and badass friends after losing someone too early, I am a host for The Dinner Party — let me know and we can connect you with a table, or you can start one yourself, anywhere.
  4. If you want to support pediatric cancer patients whilst getting daydrunk in Manhattan, The Valerie Fund is throwing a Fall Open Bar benefit on Sat 11/21 in NYC. The Valerie Fund took care of my friends referenced in TGD.

--

--

cheryl wu
{IN CONTEXT}

grungerabbit.com && uiuiu.me — tech@NYU creative director++, hackNY 2012, Tech Collab && Flawless.tech founder, Nasdaq Product Design, Dinner Party NYC host