2,068.6 Miles Standing Still

Joshua Black
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readNov 17, 2022

Admittedly, I’m a little bit of an exhibitionist. I studied opera in college, performed on stage in countless plays and musicals and performed at Carnegie Hall with world renowned musicians. I’m the guy that loves injecting a special statement or trope into conversation at a gathering just to watch people shift in their seats, yet always capable of riding the line of appropriateness.

It’s not that surprising, I suppose, that while I’m no longer performing or on stage with any regularity, those same rays of exhibitionism have started to shine through with my lifestyle.

At 43, with every passing day, my focus, resolve and efficiency becomes more acute. I’ve got a laser focused goal. Live as healthy as possible for as long as possible, and reaching 120.

I’ve seen all the eye rolling and taken the jabs. “You want to live longer than all your family and friends?” “I would never want to live that long, I’m ready to go now!” “That sounds miserable.”

I’ve got a lot of data. Steps, miles, heart rate, zones, HRV, Blood O2, muscle mass, blood sugar, sleep cycles and on and on. With all the data and analysis, I consistently struggle to balance these 3 things in my quest for maximum healthspan.

  1. The joy of the workout
  2. The consistency of the workout
  3. The benefit of the workout

As of November 16, I’ve got 2068.6 miles on my legs in 2022. Thats walks, hikes, runs and jogs on the road, sidewalks, trails and tread. I’m pretty surprised actually, because while I track mileage for each individual workout, for me its a passive measure of completion. So to see that many on the report makes me feel good.

But now, gone are the warm breezes, early morning sun kisses and nature runs of the Chicago summer. As I stare into the abyss of the Chicago winter, what is going to keep me going until spring?

Have a joyful workout

You absolutely MUST find the joy in the workout. I don’t care if it’s a run, a lift, a bike or a row. This doesn’t mean every day or every workout is a dream. Get real. Any human knows that some workouts feel like total trash. You have to push yourself to finish, or take the weight down just to get the last set in.

I’ve been able to find joy in each workout by understanding that even in those hard, cold, rugged days, the consistency of the movement is the win.

The science is clear. Happiness is a choice and giving yourself grace on a workout to modify and find a different metric of success will give you the joy you need to make every workout count.

Consistency is your bedfellow

Get on a schedule. Do it every day. And schedule your recovery just like you schedule leg day. Life is hard, unpredictable and stuff gets in the way. You can prioritize your healthspan by simply blocking out 30–60 minutes on your calendar. It doesn’t matter the day or the time. If it’s easier for you to plan a week or a month at a time, do whats necessary to maintain consistency. Just give yourself the cushion to complete it.

Consistency will give you additional gains in almost every regard. More time in zone 2, your zone 5 will thank you later. More consistent lifting, watch for that definition in a few months. Easier to finish, better results. Consistency is key.

Workout Benefits are like the expanding universe

I see it all the time. Under-training, overtraining and training without a purpose. I view my workouts as a 4 dimensional exercise in benefit analysis.

  1. How does this help my fitness goals today
  2. How does this help my fitness goals this week
  3. How does this help me outside of fitness
  4. How does this help me live to 120

This 4D analysis provides me an effective way to stay motivated for the daily grind. It provides options AND it helps keep the training in check. We know that every workout feels different and is not for the same immediate purpose. I quickly think through each of these benefits and choose 1 or more as my reason for follow through.

It also gives me options for finding joy and establishing consistency!

When we broaden the way we look at our world, our brain rewires for the better. Our central nervous system calms and our “choice” to be satisfied and happy begins to take hold. I’ve put 2068.6 miles on my legs this year. While I’m not quite sure how many miles will be on the pedometer on new years eve, I am 100% certain that I have found my recipe for consistency, joy, and success.

--

--

Joshua Black
In Fitness And In Health

Longevity and fitness enthusiast. Geeking out over some peer reviewed paper on extending healthspan. Oh, and not so casually striving to live to 120.