3 Easy Tweaks You Can Do To Improve Your Workouts

Cailin Cowley
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readDec 16, 2020

--

Photo by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash

I press through the floor to bring myself into a plank position, hold, and then dip low into my push-up. My teeth grit and I can feel pink warmth creeping across my face. Arms shaking, core wiped, I sink down to surrender on the mat.

Dear god, why is this so hard this morning? This is not normally this hard.

I get progressively tenser throughout the workout, frustrated that it’s not panning out as I’d planned.

I know I’m not alone in this feeling. No matter how far along you are in your fitness journey, you will have good workouts, and you will have bad workouts. It’s part of the process, and it is inevitable.

That being said, a bad workout doesn’t need to remain a bad workout. There are many ways to turn them around and these tips can also be used to improve an already good workout. The best part: They’re little tweaks that are unbelievably easy to implement.

1. Smile

When a workout is heading downhill fast, the last thing you likely want to do is smile. But according to various research, smiling may just help you turn everything around. Sounds corny, I know, but hear me out.

Smiling activates the release of neuropeptides, which work to fight off stress. It also releases feel-good neurotransmitters…

--

--

Cailin Cowley
In Fitness And In Health

Fitness instructor who believes in focusing on the gains instead of the losses. Newsletter signup: http://eepurl.com/hoKfbz