4 Ways On How I Find My Balance To Self-Care From Self-Sabotage

What happened when I slept 16 hours every day for 60 days

Yan Huang
In Fitness And In Health

--

During the height of the first wave of the pandemic, like many countries all over the world, Singapore went into a lockdown (although we call it a Circuit-Breaker). This lasted for 8 weeks.

It was a major flip of lifestyle for many of us, I wasn’t sparred too. I found myself waning in energy, motivation, and sense of purpose. This was probably spurred by the stress of a long-distance relationship 10,000 miles away.

Like any self-care practitioner, I was careful not to get into a burnt-out; and I started disabling and deleting social media apps to reduce any unnecessary and subtle stress that comes with it, ranging from an overload of information to the comparison trap.

I was also subconsciously afraid of putting on stress-weight or pandemic-weight with staying at home so much. And so I started sleeping my way through the ongoing pandemic, aiming to reduce any cortisol overdrive.

Like a Tour de France professional cyclist clocking more than 2,200 miles in 23 days, I started sleeping 16 hours a day for the next 60 days.

I thought much sleep would help me gain some clarity and purpose and helped the time to pass by…

--

--

Yan Huang
In Fitness And In Health

Building connections one word at a time. | Bylines in few start-ups | Cancer survivor at 23 | More stories at http://yuyanhuang.substack.com