4 Weight Loss Methods That Aren’t Diet or Exercise

I transformed a slow metabolism, and so can you.

Jean Campbell
In Fitness And In Health
8 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I’ve been a diet junkie since 13 when I first learned that by eating less I could lose weight. Eureka! Problem solved, right?

A typical teenager, I dove right in with a 700-calorie-a-day diet. One day I noticed progress: my jeans were roomier. A moment later, I nearly passed out. My first experience with how unsustainable diets are didn’t sink in and like most people I failed to appreciate the lesson that day, or the next approximately 400 times. I kept trying different diets, combined with punishing exercise regimes. I lived the yo-yo life.

I got old and stumbled onto something called moderation, then got a diagnoses of low thyroid and focused more on my health and less on goddess-like perfection. When I approached the weight loss problem from the health angle, I took a quantum leap forward.

After hitting menopause, I began to lose weight. Given that low thyroid slows metabolism and middle-age is allegedly the death-knell for weight-loss, my results were surprising to say the least.

I would like to share these four self-tested, science-approved approaches to weight loss, because they not only work but they help open your mind so you can escape the diet-exercise treadmill and…

--

--