5 Affordable Wellness Essentials I Always Bring When Traveling

Traveling is tough on the body.

Hilly
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readMay 28, 2022

--

As a self-proclaimed seasoned traveler, and someone who dealt with a chronic illness for several years, I’m fully aware that traveling isn’t always a smooth ride. Long days and time zone changes lead to circadian rhythm disruptions, dining out can cause undesired stomach pain, and a go-go-go vacation attitude can be exhausting. Below I’ve listed five cheap items I always take with on a trip that can make a big difference in managing the long days.

Photo by Marissa Grootes on Unsplash

1. Pepto Bismol

One of the worst things I can imagine while on the road is a stomach ache. Wait, I don’t have to imagine — I caught norovirus while walking the Camino de Santiago. I learned they don’t sell Pepto Bismol in Spain, and while it wouldn’t have cured my norovirus, having something on hand in case of an upset stomach is a must.

2. Meditation Tool

I have an affinity for the Headspace app, but you can look on YouTube for free meditation videos as well. If you aren’t a fan of flying, it can be helpful to do this as the plane taxis, and while traveling, spending a few moments taking mindful breaths can signal your body to relax and have better sleep.

3. Eye Mask & Ear Plugs

Napping isn’t a skill I excel at, but I find that when navigating large time differences, they’re a must. If you’re staying in the heart of a city, it can often be noisy, so ear plugs help tune out the world. They’re also a must at hostels or if you’re traveling with a snorer! An eye mask is ideal for a red-eye flight and time zone differences as well. Sleep is crucial to helping the body recover from busy days of sightseeing, eating, and adventuring.

4. Healthy Food

Airport food is often expensive and limited in selection. I typically grab a salad or other meal that will keep for a few hours before going to the airport. This way, I’m spending less money and eating something that will fuel my body, because I enjoy it! I’m not forced to decide between Mexican or Japanese when I don’t want either.

I also bring snacks: a few protein bars, some nuts or trail mix, and a little chocolate. This is great for afternoons out and about, when you realize it’s been awhile since your last meal but you still have an hour left of a tour before you can find food.

5. A Giant Water Bottle

I’m talking liter-sized. Keep it on you, refill it, and stay hydrated. When you’re traveling to places with elevation (Colorado, Mexico, Peru, for example) you want the extra hydration. Even if you’re at the beach or walking through a city, you’ll be active and outside, so it’s important to drink enough water. It’s easy to forget to drink water and rely on coffee and alcohol, but that won’t help you feel good on the road.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Hilly
In Fitness And In Health

adventuresofhilly.com & @adventuresofhilly on tiktok — life enthusiast with a penchant for travel, a good book, and a new adventure.