5 Grocery Store Tips That Have Helped Me Lose 20 lbs

It’s easier than you think.

Prudence Anne
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readFeb 6, 2021

--

Photo by gemma on Unsplash

Over the past few months, I have dived headfirst into my fitness journey. *eye-roll* I can't believe I just said “fitness journey” but that is exactly what it has been. Trying to figure out what works for me was a process that took thought, planning and a lot of trial and error.

Even though I have just completed a degree in health and exercise science, over the past year my physical and mental health and subsequently my fitness abilities have deteriorated (thanks COVID-19). In order to combat this, I needed a complete overhaul of my eating and physical activity habits. My new plan included increased exercise, eating healthier, cutting out alcohol and seeing a therapist regularly.

Grocery shopping has had a massive impact on my overall wellness so far and after losing 20 pounds, I’ve compiled some tips that helped me do it.

1. Shop the perimeter of the store.

One of the best tips I have taken from nutrition classes at university is to aim to do the bulk of your shopping around the perimeter of the store.

Photo by Dennis Siqueira on Unsplash

Grocery stores are almost always laid out so that the freshest foods are around the outer edge of the store and the more processed foods are in the aisles.

The perimeter is where you will find the fresh fruit and vegetable sections as well as meat, eggs, and dairy sections.

I aim to do 75% of my shopping in these sections and then dip into the aisles for any additional ingredients that I need.

2. Don’t shop while hungry.

Impulse buying snacks and unhealthy foods are easy to do but it's made easier when your shopping on an empty stomach. Not only does everything look good, but you're more inclined to pick foods that you’d want to eat right now.

Eating a snack before going to the store can help you focus on choosing items with intention rather than impulse. If I eat before shopping I find myself reaching for more fruits and vegetables as ingredients for meals rather than quick-fix snack foods that appeal to me when I'm hungry and impulsive.

According to this study, grocery shopping at different times of the day can alter the amounts of high-calorie and low-calorie foods you purchase. The study suggests that shopping between 1 pm - 4 pm (after lunch) could be best in order to avoid higher-calorie foods.

3. Stick to the list and only the list.

I love lists. I use them in almost all aspects of my life, including the grocery store. Maybe it's my ADHD to blame, but I refuse to do any grocery shopping without planning ahead and writing a list. Having a plan or a list to follow takes the stress and guess-work out of shopping.

Planning ahead means that you won’t be as tempted to impulse buy unhealthy foods as the healthy choices have already been made ahead of time (and they’re on your list!). A grocery list also helps me to plan weekly meals and their necessary ingredients which means I cut down on buying unnecessary items — your wallet will thank you too!

Photo by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

4. Use a basket instead of a cart.

This tip may not work every time (especially if you need to stock up on canned items), but for the most part, I try to use a handheld basket instead of a cart.

Using a basket helps me to think about each item I'm purchasing as I have to physically carry it around the store with me. If I use a cart, I tend to fill it with unnecessary items that usually aren't the healthiest. But if I use a basket I’m less inclined to add unhealthy items because I simply don't want to carry that much.

5. Read the labels.

Nutrition labels are one of the best tools to make informed food choices at the grocery store. Instead of just buying the same items or brands that you usually grab, read the label first and compare it to similar items. You may be surprised to find that there are healthier options than your typical items.

Checking nutritional labels can help you avoid falling for the marketing trap of foods being advertised as ‘Natural’ or ‘Organic’ or even ‘reduced-fat or sugar’. In a 2015 study, more than half of adults reported looking for the ‘natural’ label when shopping, despite widespread confusion over what that really means (read more about that here).

I usually strive to purchase items with the least amount of ingredients possible, especially items with ingredients that I can understand (and pronounce).

Making changes (and sticking to them) to your diet and lifestyle is no easy feat but hopefully, these tips can help you conquer the grocery store and make healthy habits more attainable.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Prudence Anne
In Fitness And In Health

Coffee & Carbs. Bachelor of Human Kinetics — Health Promotion.