5 Reasons a Workout is an Excellent Date Idea

Get ready to sweep them off their feet

Scott Mayer
In Fitness And In Health

--

Credit: Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels

When I first met Kate we immediately hit it off.

We met at a local restaurant to grab a bite to eat. We chatted idly, swapped stories and all of a sudden, three hours had passed. I hadn’t experienced anything like this on a first date before. I was smitten.

I was also wary. Given my rather limited (read: non-existent) dating experience, I wasn’t sure what to think. The little experience I did have wasn’t exactly stellar. Was this simply a good first date? Or was it the start of something more?

For our third date the following weekend, we met at a nearby forest preserve for a run. I’m not sure who made the suggestion, so I’ll just take half the credit. We met, exchanged pleasantries, and hit the trail.

5.7 miles later, our connection was sealed. The initial chemistry we felt was real.

Almost a year later, we’re still running together. It’s even expanded to hiking, biking, swimming, and paddle boarding.

Here’s why a workout is an excellent date* idea.

*One quick suggestion: don’t plan a fitness date as a first date. Try for date three or four. By then, you see the potential with this person. You’ve had a few opportunities to

--

--