5 Things Fit Aging Athletes Don’t Do

Especially when it comes to not getting hurt, staying lean, and increasing energy

Trevor Huffman
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Rachel Moore on Unsplash

The information in this fitness article is intended solely for educational purposes and cannot substitute for professional medical advice.

When I was a pro athlete, I figured out it’s more about learning what not to do than knowing what to do.

Like hot yoga at 44, I know not to try certain poses and twist my back in specific ways. I’ve learned to opt out because I’ll end up hurting myself.

And aging as an athlete is a challenging puzzle to figure out. Where do you start? What do you focus on? What do you give up? What training community should you join? How do you get healthier without getting hurt?

Let’s virtually high five and get into it.

Too many choices create a bottleneck

Regardless of where you are on your fitness journey, there’s plenty of options out there — whether it’s joining a gym, training solo for an event, or finding some sports fitness hybrid communities like Swish House, Title Boxing Club, Deka, Hyrox, or Crossfit.

The hard part about getting older as an athlete is picking the right fitness concept that creates accountability and…

--

--

Trevor Huffman
In Fitness And In Health

Hi. I'm Trevor. I write about egoless living relative to sports, business, leadership, and fitness. Subscribe today.