6 Common Dieting Mistakes That Led Me To A Binge Eating Disorder

Derek John
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readMar 31, 2021

--

Photo from Canva

Many people struggle to follow mainstream diets, not just you.

You spend your week eating in perfect accordance with your diet, but then the weekend comes, and one vice leads to another. Then another. Now you’re in the middle of a vicious cycle, drowning in self-doubt, guilt, and plotting next week’s perfection.

I know the feeling.

So, here are the mistakes to avoid that resulted in me developing a binge eating disorder.

Diet hopping.

I’ve tried many diets.

Keto, Paleo, Intermittent Fasting, IIFYM, Vegan, Vegetarian, and even Fruitarian, to name a few.

But once one stopped working, I assumed there was something wrong with the diet.

So I’d hop on the next diet, wash, rinse, repeat.

I did this so many times that it led to a binge eating disorder.

Eventually, I quit trying to find the best diet and instead focused on healthy habits like eating multiple servings of fruits and veggies per day.

Since then , my disordered eating behaviors went into remission.

Sure, all diets work when you adhere to them.

--

--

Derek John
In Fitness And In Health

Sharing short suspense stories. | Crafting my first suspense thriller. | Technical writer by day, fiction writer by night.