7 Hard Lessons I Learned From Working Out (Almost) Every Day for Two Decades

#1 — Wanting to quit never goes away

Anthony Carlton
In Fitness And In Health

--

Since the first day of second grade, which was also the start of my athletic career, I’ve been in love with movement.

That day I learned how freeing it was to just run around. This was long before I cared about the health benefits of exercise. All I knew back then, and see even clearer today, is that a simple habit can change your life forever.

As I prepare for the Chicago marathon in October (my first one), I look back at how my daily exercise habit has shaped my life. It’s the one constant that’s outlasted relationships, jobs, and plenty of tough times. Without exercise, I might not be here.

It’s a lot more than a habit. It’s a lifestyle choice I can’t live without. Maybe, just maybe, the lessons I’ve learned over the last two decades can inspire you to start or re-start the process of falling in love with exercise.

1. Wanting To Quit Doesn’t Go Away

Every morning I think of ten reasons not to go on a run. Most are lame excuses.

“I don’t feel like it.”

“Skipping just one day is fine.”

“I have important work to do.”

--

--