7 Lessons I Learned After Practicing Yoga For 3 Years

The biggest obstacle for any beginner is starting.

Odyssa
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readSep 4, 2021

--

Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

The first yoga class always brings excitement.

There’s a thrill in trying something new. It makes you say, ‘I’m going to keep doing this because I love how it feels. It makes me feel strong. It makes me happy!’

Then the pause. Work commitments, home life, and medical conditions sometimes impede students from attending class or self-practice.

But there are students who stay with it.

After 3 years of practicing consistently, I realized it’s not about the poses. It’s not about flexibility. It’s not about making friends with teachers and classmates either.

It’s about showing up whatever the day felt like. It’s about finding time to connect with myself even if it’s only 15 minutes on a hectic Monday. It’s about accepting my body for what it is and what it can do.

Yoga has become part of my daily life.

These are the 7 lessons I’ve learned after practicing yoga for 3 years.

1. I learned that preparing for practice is as important as the practice itself.

Invest in the right yoga mat and clothes. If you are serious about yoga, this is and will be a daily thing that you do for over one hour each day.

Don’t get into uncomfortable clothes and underwear that will cause chafing, itchy, and don’t fit you well.

Get a mat that has a firm grip and won’t let you slip. This is what I’ve been using. It still feels and looks brand new.

2. I learned the importance of having one teacher to guide me through my practice.

When the student is ready, the teacher will appear. Somehow, the universe brings people into our lives — our circle — who can make a profound impact on us whether we ask or not.

My yoga practice began when I saw a friend’s Facebook post about a class she’s holding in a nearby studio. I attended for several days and the rest is history.

Have meaningful conversations with people about what and who they know. Make the right connections and it will get you somewhere.

3. I learned that the biggest obstacle of any beginner is starting.

With the pandemic, most yoga students practice at home and rely on online classes.

When I was living in an apartment, I practiced after work right before dinner. Now that I live with my parents, I practice in the afternoons when the house is quiet.

The first thing to work on is establishing your daily practice. If you can, practice in the same space at the same time. Use a tracker to see your progress and consistency.

Keep your practice space clean, quiet, and peaceful.

4. I learned that it’s helpful to be part of a small group of practitioners.

Practicing by yourself can get lonely.

It’s advisable for any person with a passion to have a community to be with and learn from.

The advantages of community life lie in our ability to be sensitive and caring; to be considerate and thoughtful of other human beings. -Buddhist monk Ajahn Sumedho

Have one or two friends you can share your thoughts with, aside from your teacher. Never compete with others — this can get toxic.

Find someone who goes through the same struggles as you and can understand your breakthroughs.

5. I learned not to beat myself up for not practicing.

Life gets tough. There will be days when you can’t show up and that’s alright. It’s not a crime to skip.

I was like this during the first few months. At that time, I thought skipping practice meant I’m not taking it seriously or I’m lazy.

But this is not true. I had to remember that nothing great comes easy.

Building habits take time. -James Clear, author of Atomic Habits

Pat yourself on the back when you show up while life is tough. A few minutes of yoga a day is already a reward in itself.

6. I learned not to judge my practice and call it good or bad.

A practice is a practice, that’s it. It’s one of the many practice days you will have in your life.

It might seem like nailing down the postures makes good practice. One where you make mistakes is bad practice.

Our teacher reminded us that there are many factors that affect our practice — the temperature, the food we ate the day before, our mood, etc.

Your practice yesterday is now part of the past. Tomorrow is another day.

Don’t judge and let things be.

7. I learned that yoga is not a race to any finish line.

When you practice yoga, you are training and teaching yourself to gain mental toughness and to learn acceptance of things as they are.

Never, ever feel pressured if your friends look way more advanced than you.

It’s like saying ‘Oh she is now 40 and I’m just 35. I haven’t had many years in my life…poor me!’

Our bodies differ from one another. We all learn in different ways. We have weaknesses and strengths to embrace. Some poses may take you years to learn, but who cares?

One’s practice is her own and there’s no such thing as fast or slow.

My love for yoga has only grown stronger. 3 years is not a long time but I intend to keep practicing until my body can.

Yoga is a wonderful way to learn about life. It has obstacles to overcome. It also has its perks. You will get into shape, gain mental clarity and maybe even gain lifelong friendships.

If you’re a yoga student, I encourage you to keep showing up.

I assure you. One day, you’ll come up with your own set of lessons that are worth sharing.

Odyssa is a content writer from Manila, Philippines.

Want to join Medium? Click here. Get notified by email when she publishes a story by clicking here.

If you want to support her writing, buy her coffee here.

--

--