9 Out of Every 10 Women Avoid Muscle Building. Are You One of Them?

If yes, do yourself a favor and start today

Harsha Agarwal
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readJul 4, 2023

--

Photo by Anna Tarazevich on Pexels

Women and muscle building to me were like tea and ketchup.

They don’t go together — This was my biggest misconception. I foolishly associated muscles with bulking. (Think bodybuilders with inflated biceps).

And being a woman, it was the last thing I wanted.

So I stuck to cardio exercises for the longest time, until I started muscle building. I remember telling my gym instructor how I don’t want to lift weights, or else I’d end up with bulky arms.

He smirked. The rest is history.

In the last 8 months of muscle building, not only have I lost 7+ kgs (15 lbs), but also transformed my life completely. (And no, I don’t have bulging biceps)

From my experience, here’s why you should consider building muscles as a woman.

1. Your Bone Density will shoot up

Lifting weights make your bones stronger.

As a woman, you may think “Why do I need stronger bones”? It is because you are more prone to bone loss with age compared to men.

If you still need convincing, consider the following benefits of increased bone density:

It will:

  • Improve your bone health
  • Improve nutrient absorption
  • Reduce your risk of fractures
  • Make you less prone to ortho diseases
  • Better support and carry your body weight

2. You will get rid of the unwanted fat

Ladies, now we are talking!

Building muscles help you reduce body fat. I was able to lose 7kgs by lifting weights (90% of the time) and doing some cardio.

This ain't no magic.

Building muscles improves your body composition, which in turn means increased muscle mass and reduced body fat.

Owing to this, I have a toned body now, which was impossible with a sole focus on cardio exercise.

3. You get as strong as steel

Not bragging, but in 8 months, I have gone from lifting 2.5 kg dumbells to 10 kg.

Even outside the gym, physical life has become better and easier. I can easily carry things and not get tired, which was not the case earlier.

As an Indian woman, I value independence and self-sufficiency.

I don’t want to rely on others to carry my things or even move around my luggage. Building muscles helps me do all my chores without any pitiful glances or forced help.

Even in the long term, building muscles will improve your strength and enhance your energy levels.

Your body will only thank you for having begun in the first place.

So if you think you don’t need to be physically strong as a woman, please think again.

4. Your metabolism goes up and up

When you focus on building muscles, you stretch, break, wear, and tear them. This activates your muscles.

Now the body has to do some extra work to repair them.

This means it continues to burn calories even when you are back from the gym and chilling on the couch.

Not bad, right?

Building muscles help you burn calories even at rest, thereby boosting your metabolism.

Which in turn helps:

  • Maintain body weight
  • Manage hunger levels
  • Increase energy levels

Dan Go explains it better:

Screenshot by author

5. Your mental and overall health will skyrocket

This is such an underrated aspect of building muscles.

Weightlifting exercises release mood-boosting hormones - endorphins that make you more positive and less anxious. This boosts your quality of life.

Even my menstrual health has undergone a significant improvement with muscle building.

And knowing I am going to be as fit in my 40s as I am in my 20s gives me a sense of security and freedom.

It makes me happy and accountable to go to the gym daily.

Because I am not in it for short-term weight loss, but for improving all aspects of my health.

Women’s muscular health has been undermined for a long time now.

It is only recently women have started realizing the importance of building muscles and it's a beautiful change.

So in case you still feel building muscles as a woman is not for you, you are either:

  • Not serious about your health, or
  • Leaving your long-term health to fate

So time to take charge of your health!

Good luck!

Want to deep dive into the exact strategies that helped me lose 15 lbs as a beginner? Subscribe to my FREE 5-day email course: The Ultimate Fat Loss Blueprint: A 5-day crash course for beginners on how to lose 15 lbs in 8 months without dieting and trying hard (Say goodbye Yo-Yo Fat)

--

--

Harsha Agarwal
In Fitness And In Health

I ghostwrite Educational Email Courses and Twitter Threads for Health and Fitness Startups.