9 Spanish Habits That Have Helped Me Be Leaner, Healthier, and Happier

How moving to Spain changed my approach to health, fitness, and happiness

Alexa V.S.
In Fitness And In Health

--

Woman wearing a beautiful dress while sunbathing at a Spanish beach. How moving to Spain changed my approach to health, fitness, and happiness
Photo by Marcin Jozwiak on Pexels

Moving to Spain turned out to be a life-transforming decision. In the 7 years since, I’ve:

  • Married a local, who’s introduced me to his culture.
  • Traded a corporate job to pursue my dreams (very millennial, I know).
  • Achieved the lean, athletic physique I’ve always dreamt of.
  • Kept my blood sugar and “bad” cholesterol in check.

Most importantly, today I feel happier than I’ve ever been.

And though many factors influence our health and happiness, I’m convinced living in Spain has a lot to do with the improvements I’ve experienced in my life. After all, Spain is considered one of the world’s healthiest countries.

Left (my current physique). Center (My last blood analysis — some relevant numbers: glucose 75 mg/dl, LDL Cholesterol 28 mg/dl, HDL Cholesterol 85 mg/dl, Triglycerides 34 mg/dl, and my white blood cells are all within a healthy range). Right (just a happy pic). [Images by author]

The good news is that the Spanish habits I’ve picked up can be practiced no matter where you live.

That’s why I’m sharing them today. I hope to inspire you to try something new.

#1. Drastically…

--

--

Alexa V.S.
In Fitness And In Health

Certified INFJ. Health & Fitness enthusiast. Fellow writer.