A Brilliant Article on Aging and Ageism. It WILL Happen To You, But Only if You’re Damned Lucky

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health
7 min readApr 14, 2022

--

Photo by Luis Machado on Unsplash

The above photo of a lovely middle-aged woman is part of what Unsplash gave me as “OLD woman.” It reeks, doesn’t it?

But first, a complaint from someone who isn’t even there yet and she’s already mad

Let me set the stage here. I just came in from the gym, where I was practicing box jumps, Belgian split squats and Turkish get-ups.

They’re hard. That’s why I do them. At 69, I am now in full training for a return to Kilimanjaro next year. I am also rehabbing after two shoulder surgeries and I have a hand surgery as soon as I return from Africa in late June. You heal, you deal, you train. You keep right on going.

Over at my website Walkabout Saga, I’ve got women and men in their much later years talking about workouts and challenges and how to get stronger and better. I have athletes and trainers and everyday folks in their sixties and seventies and eighties Cutting. It. Up.

But I digress.

The first article which caught my eye today was this from Medium peep Kerala Taylor:

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health

Not writing here any more. I may crosspost. You can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ .Also visit me at WalkaboutSaga.com