Are You Eating Too Much Sugar? These 12 Signs Can Help You Answer That

They gave a much needed wake-up call

Carly
In Fitness And In Health

--

Image created by Author in Canva

I haven’t felt like myself lately. I have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning, I’m irritable, and have trouble concentrating. My weight is a few pounds higher than usual and my body constantly craves sweets.

Am I eating too much added sugar?

I analyzed my diet and did a little research to find out. I came across this article by Julie Revelant and Kelly Kennedy, RD, explaining signs of eating too much added sugar. Wow. It is a much needed wake up call.

I realized I’ve been eating more cereal, larger portions, and ending every meal with a sweet treat. These signs really helped me and I hope it can reach some of you, too.

What can too much sugar do to my body?

This was my first question when I realized I was overeating added sugars. The article explains how sugar gets broken down and absorbed in the small intestine, usually converted into simple sugars of fructose, glucose, and galactose. The liver stores some of this for later energy, while the rest goes into the bloodstream.

When sugar enters the blood, your levels of blood glucose rise. The pancreas releases insulin to help lower…

--

--

Carly
In Fitness And In Health

Vestibular Physical Therapist | Here to share knowledge, experience, and tips to help you understand dizziness and get your life back