Are You Missing Out On Health Benefits If You Don’t Do Intermittent Fasting?

Egis R.
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readNov 9, 2021

--

Are You Missing Out On Health Benefits If You Don’t Do Intermittent Fasting?
Image by the author

Hey there, I’ll make an educated guess that you have read the post I wrote some time ago in which I said that intermittent fasting is no better than continuous calorie restriction for weight loss:

Image by the author
Image by the author

And boooy how I pissed people who like having air for breakfast aka intermittent fasting extremists off.

Some ignored the weight of the evidence and kept believing that intermittent fasting is the best thing ever. Some were more intelligent and said “Yeah, maybe intermittent fasting isn’t better than continuous calorie restriction for weight loss but it offers many other health benefits. Autophagy and stuff, you know.”

And so now I am about to piss those people off too (things like that definitely reduce the size of my circle of friends) because a new systematic review and meta-analysis by Chen et al. (2021) found that if you don’t do fasting, you are probably not missing out on much in terms of health:

--

--

Egis R.
In Fitness And In Health

I’m Egis, an online weight loss coach who has heightened BS sensors for fitness & nutrition. Only evidence-based & sustainable fat loss. www.absscience.com