BCAAs Could Teach Supplements That Suck How to Suck

Egis R.
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readMar 23, 2022

--

Image by the author

Amino acids from protein that you eat are the “building blocks” of the new muscle. So to speak.

Of the 20 amino acids, only three contain a branched side chain: leucine, isoleucine, and valine. That’s why they’re called branched-chain amino acids or BCAAs (I know it’s boring so far but I’m about to inhale a bag of caffeine so it will get better, I promise):

Valine, leucine, isoleucine
Image by the author

So they possess chains. Chains sound cool. Also, leucine. That thingy is a key regulator of muscle protein synthesis aka a process of building muscle. Which is why people said, “take my money I want more muscle!” and started shoving BCAA in their faces like the apocalypse is imminent.

The result? BCAA has become one of the top-selling supplements on the market to improve muscle and strength gains (source):

Nutritional strategies of high level natural bodybuilders during competition preparation
Image by the author

Okay, tl;dr time: BCAA is utterly useless. It’s useless in the presence of adequate daily protein intake and I’m guilty of supplementing these for some time in my early gym days.

--

--

Egis R.
In Fitness And In Health

I’m Egis, an online weight loss coach who has heightened BS sensors for fitness & nutrition. Only evidence-based & sustainable fat loss. www.absscience.com