Beginner Ironman Training Series Article #7

Beginner Ironman Training: A Minimalist Approach | The Bike (Part 2)

A series on the basics of training for long-course triathlon

Katie Johnson
In Fitness And In Health
8 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

(Go here to catch up on previous articles & save the list!)

The bike is the most glorious leg of an Ironman.

The first time I got on my bike during a race, I remember thinking, “I didn’t drown! I’m a god! I can do anything!”

About one-third of that thought was true. I did, indeed, not drown.

However, I was no god (or goddess.) I was a mere mortal whose body’s weakness had to be overcome by sheer will to complete a windy, hot, humid 112-mile ride along the Cozumel coastline.

I hurt. I felt sad that it was taking me so long to complete the ride. I was embarrassed about my apparent lack of fitness, especially since I had trained so hard.

But you know what? The magic of Ironman came through.

The community in Cozumel is 100% responsible for helping me complete that ride.

Spectators had signs, cow bells, and crazy costumes. They cheered and shouted encouragement to all the racers, even the ones at the very back.

--

--

Katie Johnson
In Fitness And In Health

Triathlon coach, psychology junkie, and writer with a passion for helping people get better at life (while also trying to get better at life)