Ditch the Treadmill and Get Friendly with Weights If You Suffer from PCOS

To all my fellow cysters — losing weight is tough but not impossible

Eshal Rose
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by John Arano on Unsplash

Six years ago, my doctor informed me the ultrasound scan showed a 3.5 cm large cyst on my right ovary.

“You have a condition called Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS). Unfortunately, there is no cure. It’s a lifestyle disease, and we can only help manage the symptoms.” she told me that day.

Being diagnosed with a lifestyle disease at 21 was not something I had comprehended. But I was, and I quickly realized that if I didn’t take matters into my own hands, I may not be able to conceive in the future.

Managing the symptoms required me to lose weight through exercise and making healthier choices for my diet. Doing a lot of cardio became my go-to workout regimen. It seemed to work for everyone else. What I failed to understand was that my body and hormones did not work like everyone else.

Many years of cardio and research later, I picked up weights for the first time. And that was when my body started to change.

Mindless cardio can make your symptoms worse

--

--

Eshal Rose
In Fitness And In Health

Transforming thoughts into words. I can be funny sometimes. Dentist/Writer. eshalrose28@gmail.com