Eat Small Fish and Start Skipping the Big Ones

Eating small fish is better for both our health and the environment.

Jeremy Kadouch
In Fitness And In Health

--

A man fishing while the sun is rising
Photo by Will Walker on Unsplash

“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.”
— Jim Rohn

Although I loved eating my spicy tuna sushi roll, I decided recently to eliminate the big fish from my diet. It was something that played in my mind for quite a while. I already knew there were some health benefits to eating only small fish, but I never researched what those benefits were.

Recently, I read Mark Hyman’s book called Food, What the Heck Should I Eat?. In his book, he talks about food myths and explains what has been scientifically proven and what has not. I recommend reading this book to everyone who is trying to educate themselves on nutrition.

Coming back to the fish subject. Mark Hyman wrote that we should mainly focus on eating small fish and avoiding the bigger ones. That encouraged me to do some more reading on that topic.

So in this article, I will go over the possible health benefits of eating small fish.

So why should we eat fish anyway?

The most significant advantage of eating fish is because of its omega-3 fatty acids. omega-3…

--

--