Exercise The Brain And The Body Will Follow

I recommend exercising so enthusiastically that people often look at me warily, expecting that an unwanted sales pitch is about to be heaved on them.

James Rothaar
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readApr 25, 2020

--

Photo by Pixabay from Prexels

For me, there is nothing I enjoy more than going to the gym and working out. It is a pastime that has become my favorite hobby. When I am dour, angry, distraught, unfocused, or acting jerky, my wife suggests that I go to the gym for a workout, and it rewires me. It rejuvenates me every time, and I am usually low-keyed, and productive the rest of the day.

I recommend exercising so enthusiastically that people often look at me warily, expecting that an unwanted sales pitch is about to be heaved on them. So, they are extremely relieved to know that I am just talking about fitness and not selling it. I can read it in their body language and facial expressions. I cannot help gushing over it because working out a lot has made me feel better physically and mentally. From going to the gym frequently, I anticipated the physical aspect; however, the mental development took some time to bring into focus.

Take charge

If you want something, you pursue it. Otherwise, it is a dream or fantastical thinking that exists in the imagination. Big leaps are great, but most things happen incrementally. It takes small times to achieve large goals. There are no shortcuts to getting in shape regardless of all the marketing dogma that says otherwise.

Over the years, my body has changed from lifting weights and doing cardio. When I exercise, I follow workout programs prepared by educated fitness professionals to eliminate guesswork and to avoid getting hurt from taking the “bro-science” route.

At gyms and on the internet, especially on the internet, there are people trying to be helpful, but a lot of them do not know how to exercise correctly. Strive to put enthusiasm and knowledge on the same level for long-term success. Looks can be deceiving as some of them have the appearance of being in great shape, so assuming they know a lot makes sense.

It also proves, albeit abstractly, that even being uncertain on how to work out has benefits too. However, it also could lead to lingering aches and pains from bad technique or a lack of variety in routines. Unfortunately, exercises that are hard to execute may be the ones that a body needs most. I have seen guys bench press 300 pounds but cannot do three pull-ups or 10 push-ups.

Educate yourself

The brain is the first body part that needs to be developed. Learning how to exercise correctly is the foundation that will keep that enthusiasm-knowledge ratio equal to one. Whereas, doing it ignorantly gets folks hurt, or even worse than that, it could lead to them quitting. Building momentum could be difficult when taking breaks due to injuries are needed. One mistake could be all it takes to regress instead of moving forward.

Find a system or a process that provides a foundation. I began discovering my ignorance on exercising by following a fitness video on strength training and cardio. It was a 90-day program that features a guy named Tony and incorporates the letter “X” into its marketing.

I liked the experience, learning how to work out different areas of the body and doing it for about an hour with each session was eye-opening for me. I liked doing it so much that I repeated it several times. I then did a 60-day exercise program a few times produced by a professional dancer named Sean. It was a pioneering program in the high intensity interval training (H.I.I.T.) movement. The routines looked easy, but I have never completed any segment of the workouts it within its lapse time without tapping the pause button a few times. I also puked a couple times. Getting dehydrated will do that. It is something I must watch. I am guilty of ignoring the warning signs.

Both videos gave me insight that I lacked, and from working out and following these teachers’ programs, I learned how to work out more efficiently and thus, maximized effectiveness. I now experiment with different types of programs and learn from various sources. I am a student of fitness and open to learning. This may not be the answer for everybody. We all have different ways of learning. Studying videos educated me, and it continues, as I do it a lot. I learned how to know whether a personal trainer or someone at a gym or online is doling out valuable info or worthless advice.

Find your way

A personal trainer may be the best route for some people. However, since all trainers are not created equal, it might be best to get a recommendation from someone instead of relying only on their sales pitch. There are courses taught in graduate-level business courses school on how to deliver effective sales presentations, so exercise caution.

Before I had begun thinking this way, I passed a certification test to become a fitness trainer years ago by studying a book and memorizing its material. It is a system I developed in college that got me through without working that hard or understanding the material that well. I could pass tests without knowing subjects intimately.

I managed to pass an exam given by a worldwide-renowned gym that put my ignorant butt in a position of authority despite being clueless on anatomy, kinesiology, or fitness. Fortunately, for anyone seeking guidance on how to exercise, I only worked there for two days and quit. I felt good about myself in realizing that.

I can offer some advice to friends, and occasionally, I will share some info with my wife. However, she is smart enough to ask about sources: “How do you know that?” or “Who did you pick up that up from?” are questions she asks me every time. She knows how to exercise caution.

Exercise the brain and the body will follow.

--

--