Get Cold To Burn More Fat

What science says about shivering

Suzie Glassman
In Fitness And In Health

--

get cold to burn more fat
Photo by WAYHOME studio

A year ago, I turned my shower to cold for a minute and managed to suffer my way through it for about a week before I said screw this. Life’s too short to endure that kind of nonsense. Keep my water warm, please.

The only reason I tried it in the first place was I’d heard it’s great for building mental resilience, increasing alertness, and potentially expanding your body’s ability to handle more stress. Other reports say it can calm itchy skin and give your body a nice, healthy glow.

I’ll admit to feeling great once the hard part was over, and I was happily on my way. However, I thought the discomfort wasn’t worth it. I hadn’t planned to reconsider my choice until I heard Dr. Andrew Huberman, neuroscientist, tenured professor, and principal investigator/head of the Huberman Lab in the Department of Neurobiology at the Stanford University School of Medicine, explain how shivering is one of the strongest stimuli to accelerate fat loss.

And, yes, he’s talking about the kind of shivering that comes from standing directly under cold water or plopping yourself into an ice bath. I’ll explain the science behind how shivering can increase fat loss and provide Dr. Huberman’s protocol for inducing shivers to burn fat.

First, how we burn fat

--

--