Get The F*** Up!

Own the morning

Joseph Atzinger
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readSep 20, 2021

--

Photo by NEOSiAM 2021 from Pexels

“At dawn, when you have trouble getting out of bed, tell yourself: “I have to go to work — as a human being. What do I have to complain of, if I’m going to do what I was born for — the things I was brought into the world to do? Or is this what I was created for? To huddle under the blankets and stay warm?”- Marcus Aurelius

Were you created to huddle under the blankets and stay warm? This quote from the former emperor of Rome has clearly stood the test of time. It’s as true now as it was then. Even the most powerful man on the earth (at that time) had trouble getting out of bed. Difficulty getting out of bed evades no one.

Many of us have jobs and work all day. Our day belongs to someone else. Same goes for the evening. Dropping off the kids at soccer practice, dinner plans, and other obligations are waiting for you when you clock out…life hits you in the face. If you can resist the temptation to hit the “snooze” button, the morning can be yours. Own the morning.

How you spend your morning is up to you. Waking up and getting a workout in first thing can be an excellent boost to your day. I wrote an entire article about this.

Other ways to own the morning:

Go For a Walk

Clear your mind with a morning walk. Watch the sunrise while you get mentally prepared for the day. I highly suggest turning on a motivating podcast and taking a stroll. You don’t have to go anywhere fancy, just start moving. I have never once regretted going for a walk.

Journaling

Too early for exercise? I get it. You can still mentally prepare for the day by journaling / writing. Write down:

  • Your goals
  • Gratitudes
  • What you’re feeling
  • Your vision for a perfect day

This kind of practice gets the brain firing on all cylinders. Waking up 30 mins before you need to be at work, leaves you in a foggy state. Take the extra time.

Make Breakfast

My routine used to consist of waking up at the last possible second, eating a bowl of cereal (maybe), and running out the door. What a terrible way to start the day. Once I started waking up earlier, going to the gym, and making real breakfasts, everything changed. I felt more energetic from my well-balanced breakfast and I was releasing endorphins from my workout. I was ready to seize the day. Making time for an actual meal each morning sets the tone for the day. Start with a high protein breakfast. Treat your body the way you would your car. You have a long day ahead, fill your gas tank up!

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--