Here’s How Caffeine Affects Your Respiratory System

Spoiler alert: It can help asthmatics breathe better

*Missy*
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Burst from Pexels

I stumbled through my daughter’s job, lugging my heavy cart to the checkout after she told me it was break time. We had dinner plans, but I was exhausted. I was running on 2.5 hours of sleep, and I’m a person who needs a solid 8 to 10 hours to function.

I decided to grab Starbucks before we ate. After downing my iced brown sugar shaken espresso in the parking lot, I announced that I was ready for dinner. Three shots of espresso can really make you feel like yourself again.

As we waited for our food, I noticed I didn’t just feel more alert. I could breathe better, and my chest wasn’t tight. My breaths were deep and satisfying, and I didn’t feel the air hunger I normally do. In fact, I felt like I had recently used my inhaler even though it remained untouched in my handbag.

It turns out caffeine can temporarily boost your respiratory system if you have asthma. I’ll explain why below, plus cover some other essential info about the way caffeine affects your breathing.

What happens to your respiratory system when you drink coffee?

Coffee temporarily acts as a bronchodilator for your respiratory system. Simply…

--

--

*Missy*
In Fitness And In Health

Working through my trauma one story at a time. Thanks for joining me on my journey.