Here’s What Happened After Doing 100 Push-Ups Every Day for Three Months Straight

The best part is that it only takes less than 10 minutes

John Robyn Buenavista
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readAug 13, 2020

--

Photo by Sam Owoyemi on Unsplash

When I first started incorporating a morning routine to jump-start my day, doing push-ups was never in the picture.

It wasn’t until my friend challenged me to do 100 push-ups for ten days straight. Why? Just for fun.

But little did I know that joining in on the challenge would be one of the best decisions I would ever make, so much so that I kept going for three more months. The wildest part? I haven’t skipped a single day!

It has truly become an indispensable part of my morning routine. In fact, I’d be hard-pressed to stop and let go of the benefits that it gives me.

It Forces Me to Drink Water

We all know that the benefits of drinking water in the morning are endless.

Though, sometimes, I just completely forget to do it because it’s hard to notice how thirsty I am in the morning.

But that changed when I started doing 100 push-ups. When I start moving and get a little sweaty, my body starts begging me for water.

It’s almost as if I have no choice but to give it what it wants, even though I know I’ll benefit from it the most.

It Helps Me Become Mindful

Right when I wake up, I become overwhelmed with all of the things that I have to do later in the day. But this also changed when I started doing 100 push-ups.

Because it’s such a challenging task, it requires all of my attention and effort. As a result, I stop thinking about all of the things that occupy my mind.

Doing these push-ups require that I stay present and focus on the task at hand, and oftentimes, it allows me to carry the same attitude for the rest of the day.

It Makes Me Feel Accomplished Early

To me, it feels like no matter how inefficient or unproductive I become later in the day, at least I can tell myself that I’ve done 100 push-ups.

But the things is, inefficiency and unproductivity rarely follow.

After doing 100 push-ups, it makes me feel good and energized, and I start asking what else I can complete. My motivation and focus reach their peak. Soon, I find myself immersed in my work without trying to.

If I had to rank which habits of mine give the best positive ripple effect in my daily life, doing 100 push-ups would be at the top of the list.

The Value of Consistency Skyrocketed

To say that doing 100 push-ups was hard at first is an understatement. I really struggled. I was sore for the first couple of days. Then when I thought it was gone forever, I became sore for another set of days.

But it wasn’t until the second month when it became much easier. It was still hard, don’t get me wrong, but it was just a little bit easier to do.

Now, after doing 100 push-ups for three months straight, sometimes I feel like I can do another 100 if I really wanted to.

The progress that I’ve made really helped me understand the value of consistency. It’s hard to see what difference it makes at the time, but it really does add up over the long-term.

Now, I’m physically the strongest I’ve ever been because of it.

Want to Give It a Go?

Beginners:

If you’re a complete beginner, and you’re not confident in your upper body strength just yet, I would start with 50 push-ups every day instead.

Hopefully, it will give you a bit of a challenge without hurting yourself. The last thing you want is to be super sore the next few days that you won’t be able to implement the “every day” part of it.

You can also try to do your push-ups with the help of your knees. So instead of being in a plank position, your knees are on the ground to help you push your chest up from the ground.

When you feel stronger, you can increase the number of push-ups that you do and also go back to doing them in the regular plank position.

Advanced Folks:

If you’re advanced and ready to go take on the challenge of doing 100 push-ups, try breaking it up. Here’s what I personally do:

10 push-ups. Rest. Another 10. Rest. 15. Rest. 15 Rest. 25. Rest. 25.

That should be 100 in total!

This way, you’re warming up your muscles first, then slowly churning up the difficulty after each rest. Also, my rest periods are between 20 and 40 seconds each.

Try it out and see if you like it! Best of luck!

--

--

John Robyn Buenavista
In Fitness And In Health

I care about creating a world that’s navigated with the help of each other. I write about photography, self-improvement, and life moments that tie us together.