How I Workout Without Feeling Like I’m Working Out

Sophia Rose
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readJan 10, 2021
Photo by and of the author

It has been a year since I walked out of my first pole dance class. I had always been an admirer of this movement but had hesitated for a while before finally signing up for my first class. What had caused my hesitancy was fear—I was afraid that I would not be strong, graceful, or flexible enough to follow the instructor’s cues.

I remember talking with my mom on the phone right around this time last year. (She is a pilates instructor and dancer, so not only exercise but intentional movement were key themes in our house.) I told her how badly I felt in my body, not necessarily due to how it looked but rather, how it felt. I had told her about my desire to try pole in the past, and this conversation prompted her to remind me of it. She very simply told me, ‘Just try it.’ So, while we were still on the phone, I purchased not one but five classes to ensure that I stuck with it.

The fears I listed above melted away during my first class. The movements were accessible, and I also realized that I had more strength than I had given myself credit for. My body was buzzing as I walked out of the studio; I had utterly fallen in love with this craft. Looking back on the first videos I took of myself, I wasn’t good…of course not! If we want to start something new with the intention of perfection, we probably will never start. I haven’t been too afraid of failure in my pole practice and any other arena of life after finding this realization.

I was consistently attending classes until March when, of course, my studio temporarily closed. Luckily, however, I had bought a pole secondhand, which I installed in my apartment just days before that news. I have been training by myself through YouTube tutorials and a couple of Zoom classes with my instructors from my studio.

Pole dance is a challenging, full-body workout.

While it is true that introductory moves are accessible, advanced ones require quite some strength and muscle activation, and the difficulty level of these moves exponentially increases. One move that was particularly tough for me in those early months was the chopper invert. I was hell-bent on nailing this one as it would allow me to access tons of other upside-down moves. The muscles required to engage in this move include hip flexors, abductors, hamstrings, low-abs, lats, traps, and biceps. After many failed attempts, muscle pulls, and frustration, I can now chopper like it’s nothing.

I don’t want to scare those of you who are interested in learning pole. What’s so great about it is no matter what moves you do, you will become stronger. I do not cross-train aside from some core exercises during my warmups. All of the strength I’ve built for pole has been from pole alone, and I don’t even realize it most of the time because it’s just so fun! Before I found pole dance, I would often view workouts as a chore; I liked how I felt after I left the gym but hated being in the gym. Now, I get the best full-body workout and enjoy every moment of my sessions.

Pole dance has amplified my quality of life.

Pole has given me so many things aside from just a strong body. For one, it has been my saving grace during this pandemic. I always think of how grateful I am to have purchased my pole when I did; I was able to continue my practice from the very start. It was a source of movement when stagnation became normal. It also uplifts me out of unpleasant emotions. I feel entirely present when I’m on the pole; my only focus is the practice. Spinning, being upside-down, discovering new realms of motion places me in an almost meditative state where my troubles seem to have faded away when I come back to reality.

Pole dance offered me a new sense of purpose. I feel the most fulfilled in life when I am creating; pole allows me to harness my creativity through transforming into shapes and, of course, dancing. I am always thinking of choreography and, when the time comes for performance, costuming, set design, and lighting. It has also motivated me to try new things that would aid in my practice; deep stretching (I achieved my side-splits in 3 months), acro-yoga, and more recently, aerial hoop.

Being a part of the pole community has made me aware of social issues pertaining to sex work, such as lack of healthcare, unfair wages, SESTA-FOSTA censorship, and the unjust handling of civil court cases. It has been an important part of my journey to honor and support those who paved the way for many aspects of modern pole dance. Pole dance now can look many different ways, but we should always remember and respect where it came from.

Finding joy in building strength.

While I did start pole dancing for the sake of getting in shape, it quickly turned into a huge part of my identity and a source of joy and fulfillment. I am sure I’m not the only person who loves the idea of working out but has difficulty actually doing it. For those of you out there who are like me, I suggest exploring ways of movement that inspire you and fulfill other parts of your life besides just exercise. As it did for me, doing so will make your regimen consistent, allow you to achieve your health and fitness goals, all while learning new skills. Thank you for reading!

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Sophia Rose
In Fitness And In Health

Writer, dancer, singer, guitar-…er? I’m here to tell you about it all.