How Pole Dancing Changed My Outlook Toward Fitness

Strength and flexibility are different — who knew?

Anangsha Alammyan
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Pixabay

The greatest gift the pandemic gave me was the love for working out.

I’m blessed with a good metabolism, which doesn’t let me gain too much weight. This was why I was always too lazy to start exercising, despite how well I knew how much it could improve my life.

But the sedentary lifestyle during the lockdown made me gain 10+ pounds, and I could no longer lie to myself that a healthy diet was all I needed.

I started with HIIT home workouts and then shifted to Yoga a year later.

My fitness routine was pretty much set, with 45 minutes of daily Yoga that left me feeling content and energized.

Then, I saw an Instagram video of a pole dancer. It was accompanied by her interview with a local newspaper about the health benefits of pole dancing. Not only did her videos look stunning, the lady, Pound Kakar talked with a level of confidence that spurred something in my heart.

She was the founder of the first pole dance studio in my city, Hyderabad. I succumbed and booked a demo class to try out this new art form.

Five months of consistent pole dancing later, I’m a convert.

--

--