How Shingles Taught Me to Listen to My Body

When you pay attention to your body’s messages and make necessary adjustments, you can improve your physical and mental health.

Olga Roman
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Living a healthy lifestyle has been my number one priority over many years.

I include fruits and vegetables in my daily diet and limit processed foods. I exercise almost daily and try to get at least seven hours of sleep. I drink plenty of water and take the necessary vitamins and supplements.

I don’t smoke and don’t do any drugs. However, I do enjoy an occasional glass of wine, dark chocolate, and ice cream.

Despite my focus on healthy living, I used to frequently experience nagging physical symptoms of stress.

I didn’t sleep well and would wake up tired in the morning.

I had unexplained headaches and found it challenging to focus.

I often felt exhausted, and my energy level was low.

Instead of listening to my body, I used to ignore all these signals.

As an avid runner and triathlete, I often lived by a “mind over matter” principle. I used my mind to override the signals my body was sending me. While this approach used to work for me when I trained for…

--

--

Olga Roman
In Fitness And In Health

Passionate runner, triathlete, and wellness coach. Empowering busy professionals on their wellness journey at Your Best Self Fitness & Wellness Coaching.