How to Build Your “Pit Crew”

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health
7 min readJan 29, 2021

--

Photo by Chase McBride on Unsplash

Get in the race, stay in the race. Here’s how.

“A NASCAR driver’s chance at winning the race depends on a well-defined hierarchy and a clear division of labor for (their) pit stop crew.”

So states The Tools of a Nascar Pit Crew » Chapter 2: Structure of Race Car Pit Crews.

You bet. You got a pit crew with lead in their butts, you have thrown the race, and possibly your car with it.

How does that apply to you and me?

You and I are already in a race, which we began the second we drew our first breath. For some, we had already lapped the competition by being White and male, for others, caste or life conditions or a number of other factors play a part.

Still, if we can set aside some of those qualifying factors for a moment, all of which are very important but not the topic of this article, I want to address what you and I can affect: the crew we build around us.

1. Your chassis: Find folks committed to your best body

I thought of this when I leapt off the treatment table where my jock sports chiro had just done some adjustments. Kevin’s in superb shape himself, a lifetime athlete, and a very positive thinker. When he puts my bones back in place, our sessions are full of laughter and…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.