How To Do 100 Pull-ups In 30 Minutes Or Less

On good days, I get it done in less than 25 minutes. Sometimes it takes a little longer

James Rothaar
In Fitness And In Health
6 min readApr 17, 2020

--

A man outdoors is outdoors doing a pullup on a pullup bar.
Photo by Teresa Rothaar

I read bits and pieces of a book by Jesse Itzler, Living with a SEAL: 31 Days Training with the Toughest Man on the Planet. Itzler, who is the CEO of NetJets and married to Sarah Blakely, the billionaire founder of Spandex, is a superrich man who hired a Navy SEAL to be his live-in physical trainer for a month. He wanted to learn about the mindset of a SEAL. There are some funny stories in his book.

I mention this because in the beginning of the book, the Navy SEAL, whom Itzler calls “Seal,” are doing a strength-training workout, and a pull-up is the primary exercise. Seal orders Jesse to do 100 pull-ups before doing anything else. While it took some time to do it, he did it. So, after reading that, I thought Maybe I could do that. It inspired me to try and do 100 pull-ups in an exercise session.

It was challenging, but I did it and now do it twice every eight days as part of my back and bicep workout. On good days, I get it done in less than 25 minutes. Sometimes it takes a little longer.

However, this is not my brag-fest session. What I do is nothing compared to what Mark Jordan, 54, the world record for pull-ups accomplished in a day. He did 4,321. Four thousand-two hundred-and ten was the record. So, with that said, my 100 in under 30 minutes is nothing, but it is a good workout session. Also, I am older than Mark and have been doing this for less than a year. So, this is doable with some work.

Mark Jordan, the world record holder for pullups in 24-hour period.
Photo courtesy of Men’s Journal

Getting to it

Body control and patience are significant factors. Do not try to do this fast; that mindset will prompt panic and a quick burnout. Also, try to remember to breath while hanging onto the bar. Doing between 15 and 25 reps per set will take time. However, with consistency, those numbers will increase. Just keep showing up. I was ecstatic the first time I did 10 reps per set. So, go slow and do as many as possible — even if that means doing only a few at a time. This requires a marathon mentality, not a sprinter’s approach. A set of 20 pull-ups could take up to 45 seconds to do, especially complete pull-ups, when the head goes down below the bar and then back up and over it.

Once a set is done take a rest period. I rest five minutes between sets. Sometimes I run in place while waiting for my body to recover sufficiently to do another set. If I am outdoors, I also jump rope between sets. However, do not do too much, at least, for the first couple of attempts. It may be best to rest. Regardless of how many pull-ups are executed, the rest in between sets is vital.

The “trick” to avoiding burnout

Yes, there is a trick to this. However, it is not like the fine print or disclaimer that takes away everything the big print promises before adding the “but” clause in the tiny, blurry print, such as those seen on TV commercials for prescription drugs and automobile financing. I promise that this is a good one as it makes thing easier. There is more than one grip that can be used to do pullups, and by switching from a palms-out wide grip to a reverse grip, it keeps things moving.

Changing grips allows extra time for the muscles to recover. Also, doing the wide-grip reverse hold on the bar is easier than the palms-out grip. However, try to do an equal number of both. The reverse grip adds more power from the biceps and takes some strain off the back and shoulders. Try doing three straight sets of palms out to get a better grip on that. Unless you are Mark Jordan, it could be a problem. Another trick is not to wear shoes, or, at least, do not wear heavy ones. It is less weight, not much, but it could be helpful, psychologically.

Isn’t that switching grips stuff cheating?

No, and I did a double-check on if both grips were okay. According to the U.S. Marines Corp, when soldiers do pull-ups to pass their physical-exam requirements, using either grip is permitted. My sources were two recruiters whom I asked on the day the cover photo for this article was taken. I am the guy in the AC/DC tank top in the featured photograph. For my effort that day, I came home with a new tee-shirt. I was so proud, but then I ran a half-marathon and hobbled across the finish line with blown out calves.

Go with the professionals on technique, not me

Since I am not a fitness professional, I defer to people who are to learn proper form, and I recommend that for anyone who exercises. Their knowledge is superior to mine. Jeff Cavaliere is my favorite go-to source.

He has three videos on pull-ups, which are great. I used to watch Cavaliere’s videos after I would hurt myself from doing something incorrectly. I know better now, and my back and elbows love this guy for that. Along with being a ripped 44-year-old fitness professional, he also is a licensed physical therapist. He posts a lot of free content; take it.

What to do if this is too much

Try hanging on the pull-up bar with your feet off the ground. This will help build strength in the back, biceps, and core. Another way to build up to strength in your upper body to do inverted rows, which are somewhat like pull-ups except the feet remain on the ground throughout the pulling upwardly.

Women demonstrating an inverted-row exercise.
Photos courtesy of Cori Lefkowith from Redefining Strength

If a lowered bar or a suspension trainer is not available, this also could be done by getting underneath a table and with both heels planted on the floor or ground, reach up and grab the edge of table with both hands pull so that the torso rises toward the table while the feet remain on the ground. Hold the body straight, and the lower the angle, go parallel if possible. In the photo, Cori Lefkowith’s form is an excellent example. She also has an article on the difference between pull-ups and inverted rows for additional information. Curls and reverse curls with dumbbells a straight bar or a curling bar also will help with building strength. Again, go with the professionals to ensure that technique is correct.

Warning: Do not rely on “bro-science.” A lot of people mean well when offering advise but go with credentialed pros for the real deal.

Along with building strength, being able to do pull-ups is a confidence builder, and, it draws attention for all the right reasons. A little self-pride is okay — just do not overdo it. There always seems to be a payback for behaving that way.

Now, go to the bar, that is, a pull-up bar, not a tavern, and have some fun with it.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--