How To Exercise Your Mental Health

The mind-body connection: Take your steps to enhanced well-being today

Lenka Otap
In Fitness And In Health

--

Physical activity is one of the best things you can do for your mental health. Image created by the author with AI.

“Physical fitness is not only one of the most important keys to a healthy body, it is the basis of dynamic and creative intellectual activity.” — John F. Kennedy

I love my morning runs. During the wintertime, it has often been during dark hours, and while I might not have loved the feeling of having to get dressed in a thin outfit and get into the initial cold, the feeling of well-being and uplifting accomplishment never tends to disappoint as I return home.

Each step I take during a run is not just a physical journey, but a mental one as well. While I’ve experienced my share of mood swings, luckily, I have never experienced clinical depression. Maybe it’s just luck, but I often wonder if this resilience is partly thanks to these daily rituals of running, biking, or more recently, swimming.

Running, in particular, holds a special place in my heart. It’s almost meditative with the rhythmic sound of my breathing and my feet hitting the ground. While I run, I get lost on my favorite music and my surroundings.

--

--

Lenka Otap
In Fitness And In Health

Computer scientist and astrophysicist. Curious about life, the universe, and everything.