How to Get Strong (Like, For Real)

If you’re not stronger than your dad, that’s a problem.

Chris Wojcik
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo via Sammy P Photography

I’ve been fat, strong, skinny, and weak, and I’ll tell you this:

Being strong is best, every single time.

The problem is, there’s a lot of crap out there when it comes to learning what you have to do to become strong.

People say you have to do weird things like jumping on those weird bosu balls, sit-ups to the highest number you can count, or following a ridiculously confusing “program” that requires you to spend as much time using a calculator as you do training.

Don’t do any of this.

Here’s the simplest guide to getting strong I could possibly write:

Step 1: Lift weights (the heavier the better).

I’m not a competitive powerlifter, I’m a competitive Jiu-Jitsu athlete.

Still, I’ve managed to deadlift nearly 2.5x my body weight, rep out 30 pull-ups in a row, and bench press close to 300 pounds.

The secret?

There is no secret.

I’ve never taken a steroid. I’ve never followed a program I thought was confusing. I’ve just lifted weights every week, 2–4x per week, basically without fail…

--

--