You know you always wanted to see the steps

How To Show Step Count On Your Apple Watch

Use it to motivate you to walk more

Aravind
In Fitness And In Health
6 min readNov 1, 2021

--

Step Counter on your Apple Watch Face (left). Tap it to show more details (right). Screenshots taken by the author.

Few Years Ago…

Watching the step counter automatically move on my Fitbit was a game changing experience. Every time I used to see the step counter increment by an additional 100 steps, I was further motivated to work another half a mile.

I always used to try and beat the step number the next day. On one day if I walked 8000 steps, then I would aim for 8100 steps the next day.

Like this, I always used to stretch myself. It felt like a game. A game that I was always winning. A game that I could never lose. Every day that I hit that number, my dopamine would go up.

And it was also making me much healthier.

But then something changed

Imagine my disappointment, then, when I moved to Apple Watch.

Apple Watch does not have the concept of showing you the number of steps on its Apple watch face. It does count the steps, however. But for some reason, it does not display the steps right on the Apple watch-face.

If you go for an outdoor walk using the Apple Workouts app on your Apple Watch, then it…

--

--

Aravind
In Fitness And In Health

I help you continuously improve your life, ranging from health, serverless/devops & mindset. Personal views.