How To Take Back Your Life From Bad Sleep

Manage your days to reclaim your nights.

Fiona
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Abbie Bernet on Unsplash

My sleep troubles began in my early thirties. Nothing significant had happened beyond life’s normal trials and tribulations, so I ignored the newly developed habit and hoped it would pass. I was living in Spain when the sleep deprivation got out of hand, and I explored a range of local ‘treatments’. Whether with an extra glass of wine at night, a puff of my flatmate’s cannabis ‘nightcap’ or a mild sedative, I got through my 30s with sleep in the red.

In my 40s, I started traveling more for work and moved to London. It was during these next years I realised the severity of my sleep disorder. Not only were the ‘mild sedatives’ not available, but I was getting older, and the fatigue was taking its toll. I could see it in my concentration or lack thereof, my moods, my lack of energy and the unavoidable dark circles around my eyes.

I tried every home remedy I came across. One involved boiling bananas with their skin on and drinking the juice (mainly for its magnesium). Another was a spoonful of apple cider vinegar and honey; other than triggering a severe gagging reflex, this one had no effect. Herbal teas, whisky, meditation, prayer. All offered glimmers of respite, but eventually I hit rock bottom. I needed to find a sustainable solution.

--

--

Fiona
In Fitness And In Health

Storyteller, ‘midlifer’, underdog & guinea pig for second half well-being. Looking to build better physical, mental & emotional strength. strongsecondhalf.com