How to Transition to Minimalist Footwear

Five necessary steps in order to make the switch

Michael Howkins
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Luisa Denu on Unsplash

For my last birthday, I bought myself a pair of minimalist shoes. This was one of the best decisions I have ever made.

I have long been an advocate for spending as much time barefoot as possible. Even when it comes to walking forest trails and climbing mountains in Scotland, I do it barefoot. But when I discovered there was such a thing as a barefoot shoe, I was sold, instantly.

These days they’re the only shoes I wear. The comfort is far beyond anything a conventional shoe can offer. My feet are stronger, more dynamic and even softer. I can also move my toes independently — I didn’t even know that was possible.

In fact, I recently wrote an article covering the benefits of wearing minimalist footwear, which you can find here.

But all these benefits weren’t obtained instantly. It took months of stretching, exercising and learning how to recondition my feet to their natural and beautiful state.

In this article I’m going to tell you five different ways that you can make this transition easier for your feet and body, so you don’t cause yourself any harm, and so you can enjoy the journey as much as possible.

Step 1: Exercises and foot…

--

--

Michael Howkins
In Fitness And In Health

I write for several publications, including The Startup and The Ascent. A lifelong seeker. I write about what it means to live consciously and authentically.