I Bought a Peloton, Should You?

Angie Capurro
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readSep 2, 2020
Peloton photo courtesy of author

At home workouts are on the rise. If you’re looking to stay fit at home, you’ve probably considered purchasing a Peloton. I decided to take the plunge and order one. If it doesn’t feel worth the $2,245 price tag, I’ll take advantage of the 30 day at-home trial and simply return it and get a full refund.

The price is steep. In addition to the cost of the bike, you also have to pay $39/month for their all access membership to take live or on demand classes. Peloton offers interest free financing for the bike through Affirm for $58/month for 39 months.

All in, if you choose to finance, you’ll be paying $97/month until the bike is paid off. Is it worth it?

Getting Started

I placed my order and scheduled the delivery for 3 weeks later. That was a pleasant surprise since delivery can take up to 6 weeks depending on demand. 3 weeks later, 2 delivery techs arrived on time with my assembled bike and set it up in the location of my choice in my apartment. I was off to the races!

I’ve had my Peloton for 30 days. I purchased the bike with the goal of losing fat and gaining muscle. As someone who feels slightly out of shape, I appreciated that you are encouraged to work your way up from beginner to expert.

Peloton 101 photo courtesy of author

I started with Peloton 101 which walks you through adjusting your seat and handlebars as well as showing you the proper form with videos and text. I clipped in my cleats and took my first class!

I started with beginner classes and worked my way up to advanced beginner classes by the end of my 2nd week. By week 3, I graduated from beginner level classes and started choosing more difficult rides or rides based on the music genre I was feeling at the moment (usually hip hop).

The Workouts

Peloton App photo courtesy of author

Okay, the classes are actually awesome and the UI is beautiful and intuitive. You can filter classes by length, difficulty, theme, music, and instructor. You can also sort by classes that are new, trending, popular, etc. There seems to be an infinite library of classes with new content coming out daily. It would be impossible to run out of new workouts to try.

With the Peloton App you not only get access to all of the spin classes but also yoga, stretching, outdoor walks, runs and more. The streaming and production quality of the classes is quite impressive. What I like most about the classes is the amount of choices you have. With varying levels of difficulty, so many different instructors, and different types of activities, there is something for everyone.

The instructors are motivating and positive. They guide you through adjusting your speed and your resistance. Your monitor will tell you if you are going too fast, too slow, and if you are in the right range of resistance. There is also a leaderboard that ranks riders by their output. I found that these tools along with the motivation of the instructor helped me to keep pushing myself harder than I would if I was doing a normal at home workout or working out on an exercise bike without the guided classes.

Photo courtesy of author

The Equipment

The bike itself is high quality, sturdy, and well-engineered with smooth finishes and a sleek design. I ordered weights and cleats (not included in the cost of the bike) from Peloton. You can also use your own clip-in spin cleats and your own weights.

It’s a smooth ride — no wobbles and no friction.

One minor mechanical issue I did notice was a clicking noise from the right peddle when I came out of the saddle. I used the wrench it came with to tighten up the peddle and the clicking went away. You also get a 1 year warranty on your screen and 3 year warranty on the bike should you need maintenance, repairs, or replacements. Hopefully, I don’t need to use that service anytime soon.

The Value

If you can afford or justify $97/month for fitness, I’d say the Peloton is worth it. Compared to the cost of the $120 monthly gym membership I used to have, I’m actually saving money. If you are a spin enthusiast and you are used to paying $30 for one in person spin class, it would be easy to justify the cost of a Peloton.

Aside from the cost, I see additional value in how accessible it makes working out. There’s no excuses — no pressure to look good at the gym, compete with your neighbor, or stress of getting to a class on time.

Having the Peloton in my apartment definitely made me work out more frequently and push myself harder during the workout. Going on walks or doing at home workouts was feeling really stale before I got my Peloton. The workouts are actually fun and I find myself smiling and dancing along to music during most rides. On days that I’m feeling lazy, all I have to do is hop on and get started. There’s no reason to make excuses and no reason not to find time for a 30 minute ride in the comfort of your home.

--

--

Angie Capurro
In Fitness And In Health

Silicon Valley Insider: Exploring the economy, tech, and people