I Exercised Like a Hunter-Gatherer for 28 Days — Here’s What Happened

A comprehensive overview of my journey, lessons learned, best practices, and whether it was worth it

Alexa V.S.
In Fitness And In Health

--

Beautiful Hunter-Gatherer Woman in Tribal Dress. What happens when you exercise like a hunter-gatherer for a month. What are the exercise habits of hunter-gatherers.
Picture by Andy Coffie on Pexels

It’s no secret that hunter-gatherers are some of the healthiest and fittest people in the world.

Research done on the Tsimane from Bolivia, for instance, shows their members rarely suffer from cardiovascular disease, diabetes, hypertension, or even depression.

Not to mention most are athletic and strong.

So, when I came across a review article explaining how to exercise like a hunter-gatherer, I was intrigued.

My experiment-hungry brain decided then and there that I’d follow a hunter-gatherer’s fitness routine for a month to see how I’d feel, which is what I’ll share here, covering:

  • The experiment itself, in which I’ll share a hunter-gatherer’s typical exercise routine, as well as the best practices and key insights I learned.
  • The results: Did my body composition change? Did I improve my cardio fitness? Did I see anything else?
  • Whether it was worth it, as well as a summary of the useful tips I learned.

--

--

Alexa V.S.
In Fitness And In Health

Certified INFJ. Health & Fitness enthusiast. Fellow writer.