I Tried Biphasic Sleeping for 23 Days. Here’s What Happened

My morning energy is through the roof and my afternoon crashes are gone

J.R. Flaherty
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

I was never able to go to sleep late and still manage a normal schedule. Most nights I could not sleep at all. After reading about successful biphasic sleepers, it seemed like something I should try.

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure what to make of the idea of biphasic sleeping when I first heard of it. It sounded like a glorified nap schedule. Something that would leave you feeling groggy all day long.

After having struggling with my insomnia, and regular jet lag, I wanted to experiment with a new way of sleeping. I was desperate.

There’s nothing worse than feeling strung out the next day from a bad night’s sleep. It’s like having the hell of jet lag without the fun of a holiday.

So I tried biphasic sleeping for over three weeks. I slept from 2 am to 7 am and then again from 2 pm to 4.30 pm for 23 days. This way, I got all my necessary sleeping hours in without feeling groggy during the day or night.

And I was productive, happy and full of energy every day.

All I needed to do was work out a regular sleeping plan. But it wasn’t always easy. Here’s how I managed it, with some…

--

--