I Tried Juice Fasting and My Body Shut Down

Why you need to listen to your body over your mind

Tessa Char
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Jona Novak on Unsplash

If you’re into health and fitness, you’ve likely heard of juice cleanses. They’re touted by some as life-altering and advertised as a way to detox and rid your body of toxins. The amount of time one can be on a cleanse ranges from one day to 60 days, as seen in the documentary, Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead.

The idea of juice cleansing has appealed to me in the past because of curiosity, but I never got the chance to do it because of costs (and mental blocks). You have to be in the mental and emotional space to go on the juice fast journey and I never felt quite there.

But I recently met a friend through my yoga teacher training who’s all about this juice and fasting stuff. She’s done 60-day juice fasts her eyes light up when she talks about detoxing. If I didn’t recognize passion before, I do now.

She’s been wanting to start her own business around self-love, meditation, and fasting (the whole healing shenanigans), so I told her that to just start somewhere and get her feet wet. Just start selling fresh juice, I encouraged her. I’d buy juice from you.

So I had to stick to my word and decided I might as well do her juice fast if she was going to bring me fresh juice every day. I was doing…

--

--

Tessa Char
In Fitness And In Health

(W)righting the wrongs in the world in justice, feminism, dating, self-help, travel, mental health, and well-life. https://linktr.ee/tessachar